Engadget
How to turn off your Google location history

Google Maps stores location history locally on your device, which you can disable via the Timeline settings in the app. You can choose to retain existing data or permanently delete your entire history. Additionally, the app offers auto-delete options for data older than three, 18, or 36 months to manage privacy settings.